Quills Awards Logo.png

Quills Awards

For Published Books

The Quills Awards are open to League of Utah Writers members who have published a book in the past year

Submissions Open:

February 1 - March 31, 2021 11:59pm MST

Winners announced at the Quills Conference Awards Ceremony

August 14, 2021

Entry Fee

$35 per entry

Rules and Guidelines

  1.  Must be a member of the League of Utah Writers

  2. Publishing Date of submitted work must be in 2020 or 2021 before the submission deadline. For traditionally published works, if an ARC is available prior to the submission deadline with a release date before July 31, 2021, the work is eligible.

  3. All forms of publication are welcome - indie, traditional, and anything else, such as web comics, etc, as long as it's in its final form and available to audiences.

  4. Previous winning works are ineligible to be entered again.

2021 Categories


All Adult Fiction

Any genre

Youth Novel

Young Adult, Middle Grade, or Children's

Any genre


All subjects


Poetry or Prose

Gold Quill and Silver Quill awards are given in each category.

The Diamond Quill Award is given to the highest score among all entries.

Categories may also include Recommended Read awards in the event of close scores.

Note: Categories may be combined if there are insufficient entries

Restrictions and Judging

  1. A book may only be entered into one category.

  2. Multiple entries are accepted from a single author, but each book can only be entered once.

  3. An author only needs to have a piece in an anthology or chapbook to enter the entire collection.

(If multiple authors, a joint entry is possible)

Judges are anonymous industry professionals from outside the League (usually other authors, occasionally professional bloggers, English professors, or agent/editor interns.)

Judges will know the author's name since it is impossible to redact names or other identifying information.


Entries can only be accepted electronically

Formats Accepted: PDF, MS-Word

File will be deleted at the conclusion of judging

All entries must be submitted using the form below